Skip to content

… fling …

July 15, 2011


It’s hot. Sticky. Air heavy with summer heat.

The martini glasses are sweating. I tilt mine, the last of the vodka sliding down my throat.

He’s behind me. His hand in my hair, wrapping it around his wrist like a rope. He tugs, cocking my head to the side, exposing my throat. Mouth on my skin.

Across the counter, his wife watches with coy half-smile. I look back through half-closed lids, sighing. Her husband runs his nose up the back of my neck, giving me goosebumps despite the heat.


She chuckles, perfectly manicured nails on the toothpick in her drink. She brings it to her lips, sliding the olive into her mouth. Lifts it from the pointed end with her tongue. Bites down.


 ♦◊ ♦


I follow them from the house. The sun went down an hour ago, but the night brings little relief. Wooded stairs beneath our feet, I look up to see the lake stretch out before us, liquid black.

Ahead of me, husband and wife reach the gravelly beach. They shed their clothes like unnecessary skin, revealing bodies faintly luminous in the moonlight. Their movements are relaxed, languid. He touches her, says something close to her ear. She laughs in response, natural and genuine.


I pause for a moment on the stairs, feeling the voyeur to something intimate and personal, yet routine. Normal. The exchange between two people comfortable with one another, who know each other well.

He reaches for her hand, and together they enter the lake. He drops quickly under the black water, resurfaces, tosses his blond head to rid the water in such a characteristically male way. She dives to follow, her body arching perfectly before she disappears. She emerges slowly next to him, her black hair like liquid, skin glistening.

Again, I stop. Watching them come back together. Kissing.

They turn toward me, gliding back toward the beach. They pause, waiting for me. Open, expectant. Inviting.

My clothes pool at my feet. I step out of their circle and onto the stones of the beach, still warm from the day’s sun, and into the cool relief of the dark water. It slides up my legs as I step forward towards them, licking the sweat from my heated skin.

My summer fling has just begun.


♦◊ ♦

This is an Insomnia Club post. Check out what other sizzlin’ stories and discussions are happening with the rest of the Insomniacs…

Confronting Love – My Mexican Summer Fling

How Very Lucky – Summer Lovin’

Single Much? – Summer – err Winter Fling

Miss Taylor Cast – Summer Lovin’

The Urban Dater – Summer Flings Make Me Feel Fine

Train Wreck Love – Summer fling – for the Insomnia Club

Sam Sharpe @ Met Another Frog – This Relationship Has a Best Before Date

Jess Downey – My Summer Fling Revisited (or just skip to her summer fling attempt from last year… and fail.)

16 Comments leave one →
  1. July 15, 2011 11:53 am

    Damn… hot! 🙂

  2. July 16, 2011 4:58 pm

    Daaaaaamn .. !
    and then …. 😛

  3. July 16, 2011 7:06 pm

    WOW!!!! Sexy 😉 I loved your descriptions in this piece… really made me think I was on the beach with the three of you.

    Very well done!

  4. July 17, 2011 9:52 pm

    Wow! Great post…Not many people would have the courage to write about an experience like this! Are you going to add more?

    • July 18, 2011 9:38 am

      Hey… it is what it is… if I keep quiet about my own desires, how do I expect other people to share theirs? 😉

      I will add more… kind of … post coming tomorrow…

  5. July 18, 2011 5:18 am

    That’s a lovely wee vignette! You really captured the moment perfectly – it’s almost tactile.

    • July 18, 2011 9:40 am

      Thank you! I hope I was able to get some of it across… without putting too much out there. Sometimes I like to tease! 😉

  6. July 18, 2011 6:35 am

    Wow!!! And to think you had me at Hello! 🙂

  7. July 18, 2011 1:35 pm

    NIce. Really, really nice.

  8. July 19, 2011 10:56 am

    Nikki, Nikki, Nikki – you add a whole new dimension to my inner landscape. I like it – I like it a lot. 😉 You have a beautiful mind and the rest of you is yummy lol. Can’t wait to hear more.

    • July 19, 2011 1:43 pm

      Ha! Thank you! I *so* enjoyed your post for the Insomnia Club too! Really beautiful and poignant…

      There will be more… in time… patience is a virtue… ?

  9. July 19, 2011 11:56 am

    Hmmmm. well since i’m going through your posts backwards… it seems like that might come to be a reality quite soon!!!

    steamy!

  10. July 20, 2011 9:41 pm

    Yhsjwhaj3782hsz96ew782190rex hf7e1212&

    Seriously.

    • July 21, 2011 12:28 pm

      230sdkfn490ntlkn sdlmf,n 9ujwinmjflnmsd09vu4tnksa;nfklnkl;.

      Thanks.

Trackbacks

  1. Not your typical Sunday night. « Women Are From Mars
  2. My advice on The End of The Affair… or whatever. « Women Are From Mars

Leave a comment