Skip to content

Not your typical Sunday night.

July 19, 2011

I don’t know about you, but I usually spend my Sunday nights preparing for the week. I do a little work, relax, maybe wrap up whatever Netflix disc I have (currently watching: “Weeds“). By 9pm, I’m  snuggled up with a novel (currently reading: “The Girl Who Kicked the Hornet’s Nest) so I can get my beauty sleep before getting up at a quarter to five for my ride to yoga and then on to work. I like taking it easy, it makes me feel ready for another week of my day job.

Well. This past Sunday? I didn’t do any of those things. I didn’t get home til 11pm (waaaaay past my school night bedtime).

I had a date.

A date that started out with my car rolling backwards down the driveway because apparently I didn’t pull the emergency break hard enough when I got out to put some mail in the mailbox. Cue me running around the driver’s door in my cute black heels to slam on the breaks. Please tell me this isn’t my car hinting at me to just stay home…

From there, I got lost.

I thought it was a straight-shot to my destination. It should have been. Instead, I somehow took the right exit but thought it was the wrong one, got stuck in traffic, left traffic to go the wrong way, got hit on at a traffic light (“Hey! Hey! Hey baby! How’d you get so beautiful?” Wow, seriously? So not the time…), went the wrong way again, finally got going the right way, but then my exit ramp was closed…  Have we discussed my excellent sense of direction yet?

Thus, I arrived at my date 25 minutes late and in desperate need of vodka.


My date was waiting for me at the bar, and the bartender had a perfect pour. I knew the night was looking up.

We ended up chatting for so long in the bar, the hostess had to remind us our table was ready. The conversation flowed, as did the malbec. We clearly had plenty in common, and plenty to talk about.

When  the check came, I didn’t even have a chance to argue before it was snatched up, glanced at, and returned with plastic to the waiter.

I was walked to my car… and there were messages waiting for me by the time I got home from work the next day. Messages regarding the pleasure of my company, and inquiring when it could be experienced again.


No games, no pretense. Easy peasy pumpkin pie.


Who has a date like that any more, anyway?

Well. Here’s a secret: It wasn’t a typical date…


There were three of us at the table…  without any of us being the third wheel.

Yes… I was on a date with a couple.


Never done that before.

I’ll admit it. I was nervous. Naturally, I suppose. But, for the most part, that dissipated quickly. The thing was though, every so often, a lil voice in the back of my head (way way back there) would pipe up and (faintly) cry out “….oh em gee… we’re on a date with a couple! Ahhhh! I feel weeeiiiiiirrrdddd!

I may have mentioned this before, but I think you’re probably always going to be a bit awkward when you try new things. Especially as they pertain to new sexual experiences. Because sexual experiences and intimate relationships can be downright awkward, even when they’re not new. There might not be an amount of prepping that can get you ready for this new thing you’re trying. Because it’s new.

Case in point. I didn’t really expect to be all “….oh em gee….!” in the back of my head. But I was. The vodka and wine helped me ignore it.

The other point of this? Well. Simply that it happens. People go on dates with couples.

See… I used to be of the open relationships don’t work mentality. I’ve long since recanted.


And Sunday night? I sat across from the evidence. A happy couple, no weird behavior or hang-ups or wanting to meet in sketchy locations or one of them clearly uncomfortable/too comfortable. They were perfectly normal.  Educated, good jobs (they certainly occupy a higher tax bracket than mine), friendly, well-spoken, interesting… not weird or kooky or strange. Or outwardly slutty, even. And I like outwardly slutty.


And comfortable. Perfectly at ease with the threesome date. Not acting like this was scandalous  but that it was normal. Part of the reason I could ignore my own little voice I didn’t know I had was that they were so relaxed.

What will come of this? I am not sure. I haven’t made a decision on this particular couple (it’s taking me a bit longer than I anticipated to process this – see what I mean?)… but, somehow or another, I have several potential offers on the table at present. When it rains…

And, of course, I’m happy to fantasize about it in the meantime…



18 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2011 11:42 am

    ohhhhhhhhhhhh Nikki.

    What shall become of this. I must know.

    Damnit i would have been so nervous! Eek! I would have used all of the above excuses to avoid that meeting. haha. But, good for you for going through with it. It’s kind of interesting they were so normal, I think we all have this perception of “couples” like that and they seem to blow that idea out of the water.

    ugh. the suspense.

    • July 19, 2011 1:36 pm

      Not entirely sure yet… I’m still mulling it over… I didn’t really realize how much processing is involved on my end, but I’m determined not to rush it. No reason to, really.

      Yeah – I wasn’t surprised they were so normal, but many people probably would be. It’s so interesting to me the thoughts we have about other people who do *this* or *that*… we may not mean anything by it but… Well. What is “normal” anyway? The more you know about others, the less defined it becomes…

  2. July 19, 2011 12:43 pm

    Having been a most willing third to an eager couple I especially loved this tale. Where have you been hiding all of this talent?

    • July 19, 2011 1:37 pm

      Ooooo! Now I want to hear YOUR story, mister! When can I expect you to post memories of this past naughtiness??

      • July 19, 2011 2:43 pm

        Well I think that if I posted that story on my page half my readers would drop dead. Maybe I could write the tale down for a select few.

  3. July 19, 2011 1:11 pm

    Wowee! I’ve thought about this many times but never done it. Looking forward to hearing whom you choose!

    • July 19, 2011 1:38 pm

      Yes… I will keep y’all posted… so far, still in the thought process… sorry to keep up the suspense! 😉

  4. July 19, 2011 1:11 pm

    First of all… quarter to five normally??? Arrgghh… you are insane. 🙂 The Stieg Larsson books are great – the movies are pretty good as well. Highly recommeded (the Swedish ones, not the US version). Sense of direction… lol! Yeah I am the same and to be honest I would have been sooooo nervous about a date like that and probably ended up in the wrongt end of the country.

    It’s great that they seemed so relaxed – I’d say that it makes a HUGE difference. Keep us posted about how it goes. 😀

    • July 19, 2011 1:41 pm

      Ha! I know – I used to be a night person, but yoga has completely changed me. Who knew I could be a morning person??

      The books are great – it’s so sad Mr. Larsson isn’t here to bask in the glow of our praise! He certainly deserves it – and I *adore* his pro-woman-ness. I’ve seen the first movie (the Swedish one, of course) – waiting on the others til I finish the books…

      Them being relaxed really helped me – they definitely made me feel as comfortable as I could be, really.

  5. July 19, 2011 1:44 pm

    I am so pumped for your decision and if it happens, you better write every last detail!!! Dammn, this definitely heated up my afternoon. I think I’ll have to call up my sexy man for some lovin lol

    • July 21, 2011 11:12 am

      I hope you called your man. This is exactly the type of influence I would like to have on people. 😉

  6. July 19, 2011 2:09 pm

    OMG is right! Wow, girl, you are outta my league in this one…but I love it. I love that you are open to it (no pun intended?! err?) and that you had such a great experience. OMG I can’t wait to read more 😉

    • July 21, 2011 11:14 am

      Even though I was nervous, somehow it seems more normal to me that, well, most everyone else. Kind of like how… not discriminating based on gender seems really normal to me, too. And not so much to everyone else.

      Neither of these things seemed normal to me Once Upon A Time. Amazing how things change.

  7. July 19, 2011 3:10 pm

    Whoa…I didn’t see that coming. Maybe I should have?

    And then….?

    • July 21, 2011 11:14 am

      …. stay tuned! 😀

  8. July 19, 2011 6:45 pm

    Maybe I should try couples. I live with a couple of lesbians (who also happen to be a couple – I’m going to see how many times I can use the word “couple” in this comment…that’s makes 4!) Anywho, they’re always trying to get me to switch teams (not with them, that would just be awkward. No where to run from that situation when you share a bathroom). After all the men I’ve encountered, perhaps I should consider dining at the “Y”.

    • July 21, 2011 11:18 am

      Couple things about your couple-y comment!

      I find couples *very* intriguing. All the fun and attention, and then you get to go home and not deal with anything else! What more could a less-than-couple-y girl like me ask for?

      As for advice from the other couple, the couple o’ lezzies you live with… my response? Men can be stupid, but women? They can be downright CRAZY.

      Just sayin’.

Trackbacks

  1. Taking monogamy down a notch. « Women Are From Mars

Leave a Reply

