Skip to content

WAFM Goes Dark: The post I don’t want to write.

October 11, 2012

Dear Readers,


‘Tis with a heavy heart that I write this, and it’s been a long time I’ve avoided it: I don’t have time any more.


I just don’t. I am loathe to admit it, and it’s hard to come to terms with that reality.  Over the past few months, I’ve tried to find a balance among everything, and keep blogging. I really have tried to find a way to Have It All – my way.

It hasn’t worked.

Here’s the fundamental problem: To me, blogging isn’t just writing a post a week. Hell, I could probs still do that, and ya know I haven’t run out of things to say. Blogging is far more than that. It is an entire community of incredibly smart, funny, interesting, engaging people who write smart, funny, interesting, engaging things. All. The. Time. Blogging isn’t just what I have to say, blogging is also all the things everyone else is saying, and all the things I have still to learn, and all the things I learn that I want to share.

I can’t just write something, throw it up on the web, and call it good. That just… isn’t enough for me. Whether I like it or not, it’s all or none, kids – and there just aren’t enough hours in the day.


So. As of this writing, Women Are From Mars is going dark. No, not forever. I am absolutely hopeful that I will find the time again, when things calm down a bit. In addition, I absolutely know that this community will still be here when I find that time. When do I think I’ll be back you ask? Well… I’m thinking not before the New Year. Yep. I need a good, long time to get my shit together, guys. But… It’ll happen. I’ve had too much fun, learned too much, and met too many awesome people, to stay away forevs.

This isn’t goodbye. This is just… see ya later.

Before I go, a few sincere thanks to some AWESOME bloggers out there. I’m comin’ back for you, kids. In no particular order…


The awesomeness of my #badassgirlcult:

First blogger crush, who made me squeal when she actually commented on a post: Blunt Delivery

And the other badass cult members:

Abby Has Issues

When Pigs Fly

Trust Maggie

Just Makin’ Convo


My other Really Serious blogger crushes, who were so awesome and were, who knows why, also so awesome to me:

The Naked Redhead

Ken & Ariel

Thoughts Appear

Single Girlie

Change From Within

Feminist Dating

Esme (now Second Chance at Love)


And, last but absolutely not least, the bloggers that were there since the beginning… We’ve exchanged e-mails and even phone calls, and I feel like y’all have been there since day one.

The amazing crew at Met Another Frog.

And, of course, Ivy Blaise and Winnipeg Bob.


I can’t thank you enough for the support and l-o-v-e over the years. For realz, yo. I had no idea what I was getting into, all those 2.5 years ago.

And, with that, I take my leave – for now. I won’t be using my Nikki B. facebook or twitter accounts, either. However, I may post randomly once in a while, when I do feel like just throwin’ something out there, so check in from time to time.

If you want to keep in touch – e-mail me! womenarefrommars at gmail.com. I will be checking that fairly regularly (if only to empty junk from the inbox).

Much, much love.

Nikki B.

 

 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. October 11, 2012 10:15 am

    Selfishly, I’m sad. I adore you and will miss you around. But I also get it. While I’m not too busy to blog, but I’ve kind of just become ambivalent about it and have debated a break of my own. It’s a matter of mindfully deciding how your time is best spent, and I admire you for making a decision. And it’s true you can take a break without stopping. There are no concretes with these things 😉

    I hope you still tweet or pop in from time to time because as you said, it is a community and I care about how you are doing (in a non-creepy way.) Be good! 🙂

    • October 11, 2012 12:23 pm

      Awww shucks! I am going to miss you, too! Your blog is pretty much an awesome place to find the funny and the thoughful in life, and it’s one of the things that kept me coming back while I tried to find that balance. I am not happy with this decision, but I think it has to be made. I’m drowning over here.

      But yes – it’s a comma, not a period. And I will absolutely check in from time to time! I care about how you’re doing, too! (… also, not creepy. I hope.)

  2. Kathrynn permalink
    October 11, 2012 10:26 am

    I will miss you, too!
    I definitely understand the need for a ‘time out’, as I always liked to call it. I also understand the need to give a hundred percent to everything you do. After all, we are our own worst critics 🙂
    I’d like to say hurry back, but I will still read no matter when you are ready to write again!

    • October 11, 2012 12:25 pm

      Thanks! And yeah – it’s just a time out! Even though that reminds me of being put in a chair in the corner… 😀

      I will, actually, hurry back – as soon as life appears to permit it. In all honesty, I do so enjoy the outlet writing here gives me, as well as reading all the awesome things out there… I won’t be able to stay away!

  3. October 11, 2012 10:30 am

    Come back soon Nikki! Missing you already. Huggs

    • October 11, 2012 12:27 pm

      Shitballs, Bob! What’ll I do without ya?? You really seriously have had my back since day fucking one. Thanks for so much support and love over the years. I will def be checking in with you to see how Winnipeg is! Hugs back, buddy.

  4. October 11, 2012 10:38 am

    Will miss you loads! But totally know where you are coming from. Will still be here whenever you decide to dive into the blogging pool again. We’ll keep in touch. Hope you will have some more time now for yourself and everything around you. Have a great time and get some chill time for yourself a plenty! 🙂
    xoxo!

    • October 11, 2012 12:28 pm

      Ivy – you’re the other one. You’ve been around for.ev.er… and we’ve had SUCH fun corresponding!! I also can’t believe I missed a chance to meet you in Dublin all those years ago… well. There is always next time. Let’s absolutely stay in touch – I will be better at emailing, swearz! This week is nutty, but should be a bit easier later this month…

      Xs and Os fo’ sho’.

  5. October 11, 2012 12:38 pm

    Enjoy your time off Nikki!! See ya when you get back 🙂

  6. October 11, 2012 3:12 pm

    “Tell me now…How do I live without you? I want to know!”—That’s me singing. Typing it is softer on your ears.

    Who will I quote Empire Records to? Who will remind me to butter my Pop-Tarts? WHO?!?! Sniffle, sniffle. I’ll miss you. Come back soon.

  7. October 12, 2012 11:24 pm

    Damn. I came here looking for the follow button. But I understand. See you in 2013.

  8. October 16, 2012 8:27 am

    Thank you so much for the shout out. We’re sooooo going to miss you!!

  9. October 17, 2012 1:14 am

    Nooooooooooo! Well, okay. But only because I TOTALLY get it. Do whatcha gotta do, and I’ll see you back here soon. Thanks so much for the shout out. Love ya, girl. xox

  10. October 22, 2012 9:13 pm

    I read this earlier, but wasn’t able to comment because my computer was in transit and my crappy iPhone is, well crappy.

    This makes me very sad. I would say that I completely understand, but that would make it harder for me to feel sorry for myself. And not to brag, but feeling sorry for myself is kind of my schtick.

    So instead I’ll just wallow in my own misery until you come back.

  11. October 27, 2012 3:02 am

    When you do come back I hope you are honest and true to your self. Take care of what is important in your life or what you still have in that matter. I guess it is ‘time to say goodbye’ and understand that the game is over and you lost. Once you play this kind of game you only have three chances to beat it and it looks like your chances have run out and have to start over. Awwwww, Please enter 25 cents….

    See ya latter…. too~a~loo….. you all come back now ya hear…

  12. November 1, 2012 8:33 am

    I’m so bummed. And, I can’t believe it’s taken me so long to stop by here. Have a wonderful break and do start up again. I’ve done it for short spurts and people are still around to pick up where you’ve left off.

  13. November 5, 2012 2:40 pm

    Say it isn’t so! But I totally get it. Life happens. You will be missed. Sending you good thoughts.

  14. July 31, 2013 3:27 pm

    It’s been a almost, a year. When are you coming back full-time?

Trackbacks

  1. Oh, hey there. | Women Are From Mars

Leave a comment