Skip to content

On vacation…

February 1, 2012

*** POSTS UP:

Good Men Project: “What if ‘A Day in the Life’ was… Your Life?

Met Another Frog: “Unromantically in Love

Otherwise… things a bit rough over here in my lil world. Sorry to be MIA but will be back soon, I swears!

Hi kittens,


I am on family vacation this week. Initially, Simone and I had hoped to have our next Project X post ready, but we both have day jobs that demand (demand!) our attention so we just couldn’t get it done.


We’re sorry!


Next week, we’ll be back and we’re talking P-R-I-V-I-L-E-G-E. This is, again, a huge topic, and pretty contentious. It also appears that not everyone really understands what that might be. Hopefully we can clear some things up, and get an interesting conversation going. Please check back!


In the meantime, two things:


  1. To get ya started, read this awesomesauce post on privilege by Feminist Father: Having Privilege is Tough

  2. I learned a new term last week: Microaggression. They are connected to both narratives and privilege, so if you have time, I encourage you to learn about them, check out some examples, and read the posts that got me thinking about them:

Change from Within: “Shit White Girls Say to Black Girls” – Racism or Critical Cultural Commentary?

Clutch: Not Everyone’s Laughing At “Shit White Girls Say To Black Girls”


Read up if you have time, leave comments on your thoughts – and check back next week. Also – I’ve got posts coming up with the Good Men Project and Met Another Frog so stay tuned for those too!


Take care,

Nik

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 1, 2012 2:45 pm

    Have a great vacation Nikki!

  2. February 1, 2012 5:54 pm

    I hope you have a wonderful vacation! I can’t believe you didn’t invite me. Geez….

  3. February 7, 2012 10:12 pm

    Thanks for the love guys! Am coming back with a post Weds or Thurs… promise!

Leave a Reply

