Skip to content

Red Flags & World Rockin’

January 27, 2011

Horrible dating stories. We all have them (here’s another great one by Single Girlie). And, let me apologize to my friend Amy in advance, for re-telling hers here.  I know this one was a traumatic event, my dear, don’t read on if you’d rather not re-live it…

Amy met World Rocker at a friend’s party. She was a few months out of a long relationship, as was he. They talked and flirted all night. She assumed he’d ask for her number, he insinuated he wanted it numerous times.


He didn’t. On the curb outside their respective cars, she finally said, “So. Do you want my number or what?” Possibly Red Flag Number One. Take note – we’re keeping track.

He did call that week, and made plans with her for the weekend. They met at his place and had a glass of wine before heading out. Everything seemed fine. So far.


Cut to dinner. Again, everything seems fine and conversation is good. Although… World Rocker sure does like to talk about himself. And. There is this little detail: World Rocker takes his phone out and leaves it on the table next to him.

Really dude? Really? Yep… Red Flag Number Two.

World Rocker also decides that, halfway through dinner, it’s now ok to start reading texts messages. And replying. At dinner. And that would be Number Three.


Since it’s only dinner and the first date, Amy decides to ignore Flags One through Three and give W.R. the benefit of the doubt. Maybe he has something urgent with work he needs to attend to. Maybe he’s nervous. Maybe he’ll knock it the fuck off soon. Right.

But really, what are you supposed to do? Well. You could be me. Once a guy put his phone on the table. I looked at it. Looked at him. Looked back at it. Back at him. “Really. Did you just really put your phone on the table. Are you kidding me right now.” No, those were not questions. Phone no longer on the table.

Anyway. Back to my story.

They go from dinner to drinks. World Rocker’s attention span is further taxed because there is a television in the bar. He can’t stop looking at it.

And then. W.R.’s phone (which is still, yes, present) actually rings. Worse than that? He picks it up. And talks to his buddy for five minutes.


As Red Flag Number Four (we should make this a drinking game) is so very red and so very gigantic, Amy decides at this point, World Rocker is Game Over. Done and done.

However. World Rocker is still super cute. “Meh,” she decides, “just because he’s a douchebag, doesn’t mean we can’t make out a lil. He’s already wasted an entire evening I’ll never get back – might as well get something out of it” (that’s right gentlemen, we can think you’re an ass and still want a relationship with your penis).

So. They go back to his place. Have a glass of wine. After the first glass, he gets up and goes to the door. Turning to Amy with a look on his face that suggests he’s attempting to channel Austin Powers and a raised eyebrow, he locks the door and says, “Does this make you uncomfortable?”

No, Creepy. It doesn’t. The door locks from the inside. Doesn’t make you less bizarre, though, thanks for asking. And… can I have a Red Flag Number Five??

Amy figures… dude, let’s just make out, ok?

Yeah… sorry, Amy. Naturally, W.R. is a terrible kisser.

At this point, sure, you’d assume it’s maybe time to give up and call it a night. But… for some reason, Amy decides to stick this one out … just… a little… longerShe’s just not one to give up easily.

So…the making out didn’t help. And yet he’s so pretty. Maybe just sit on his face.

Making out moves to bedroom. Clothes start to come off. And, unfortunately (yes, unfortunately), World Rocker heads for Amy’s nether regions.

Hmm. I’m sorry – but writing about this is not nearly the same as Amy’s visual rendition. The best I can do is the following: He might have been attempting to frantically scrub a pan (although not quite as painful as that sounds). Not really sure. He also apparently heard somewhere that a woman’s erogenous zone is from mid-thigh to belly button. I don’t mean this in a good way. I mean this in a… let’s frantically scrub a pan from your mid-thigh to your belly button in the hopes that somewhere in there I hit your clitoris.

When that didn’t seem to work (shocking), World Rocker decided to go… all in.

One minute they were making out, the next, he had disappeared – having dived head-first, suddenly and without warning,  into said nether regions. Godspeed, good sir!

Or not. That was, shall we say, a sobering experience.

Did I say sobering? I meant slobbering.

At this point, Amy finally gives up. She tried, oh how she tried, to squeeze something worthwhile from this wasted evening and, now it’s quite clear that she’s failed. You can only do so much. Even with someone so good looking. Tragic, really.

Being as exhausted as she is by this time, she just wants some sleep.

World Rocker is having none of that.

“But… baby, baby… all I want to do is… rock your world.

Yep. Not even kidding.

“Baby… just let me… I just wanna rock your world…

Yes. It was repeated. Multiple times. As if that would somehow help out the argument. Just let him rock your world already.

And, of course by this time, WR’s clothes have come off. All of them. And it is quite clear to Amy that that is not rocking any one’s world.

Really.

Finally, World Rocker gives up and lets Amy sleep for a couple hours. Or try to. She eventually even gives up on that and decides to leave.

Douchebag doesn’t even bother to get up and see her out. Shocking.


Amy did not call World Rocker for a repeat performance of all the world rockin’. And she wasn’t surprised when she didn’t hear from him.

Well. That is, for about three weeks. She only picked up the phone because she didn’t recognize the number. “Hey! It’s been awhile! Want to grab a drink or something?”

Really, dude. Really. Wow.


Two points to be made from this lil tale (you know I gotta do that, right? There are always lessons to be learned…).

One: Just want to reiterate my point that encunters (yes that is a word I invented… or maybe just typed once when alcohol prohibited me from reaching the “o” key) are not Contests. They can just be Awesome, alright? Even though, in this case? Whole lotta Not Awesome, not a lot of Awesome. Kind of across the board.


And. Even though it wasn’t warranted at all, there’s still a power thing going on here. A “hey you’re the slutty girl and I’m the Awesome Dude that bagged you.” Even if the real story is “hey, you’re that douche bag guy and I’m the Awesome Chick who just wanted to get some ass – and you even failed at that.”

I fucking hate that shit and I think it’s fucking stupid. How come the dude always gets to feel like he has the upper hand? No matter what happens? That’s bullshit, man. You weren’t Awesome, dickwad (yeah bringin’ it back). Nothing you did got Amy into your bed. You have nothing to feel cocky about (….seriously…). And no, you don’t get to say “hey I was so Awesome I acted like a dick the entire night and she still went home with me. Awwwww yeah.”


Excuse me. Let me break this down for you. All you did was put up reasons for Amy not to go home with you, and she did anyway because she thought maybe you’d at least be good in bed (unfortunately made the classic mistake to equate good looks with boning ability – and a normal-sized penis – oh, sorry, low – er – blow), and she could at least get something for her absolutely wasted time.


She had no interest in you other than your dick (…not even gonna say it…). Sorry.

I hate that girls can’t be that way. Guys are assumed to work it like that, but when a girl does…?

Two: Speaking of his skillz, World Rocker had recently ended a two-year relationship. That means, some other poor woman had to deal with him and his pan-scrubbing for two years.

Hello, lady! Could you not have taught this man anything?? Mild suggestions, even? Avoid one faked orgasm?

How did this girl do it? How do you deal with such terrible sex for so long? I am sorry, but I have to place a good healthy chunk of the blame with her. Although maybe he didn’t take direction well (that really wouldn’t be a stretch) but my guess? She just laid there.

Unacceptable.

Look. Sex is great fun, but it can also be pretty intimidating. The only way to get better at it and learn to truly please your partner is through a lil feedback and dialogue. FOR THE LOVE.

SO, the lessons in all of this?

  1. Pay attention to red flags – they mean something.

  2. Speak up in the bedroom – for your sake and for theirs. Jeesus H, how are they ever going to learn if you just lie there until it’s time to fake an orgasm?

  3. Never tell someone “I will rock your world.” Even in jest.



35 Comments leave one →
  1. January 27, 2011 10:37 am

    Phone on the table? Wow. That’s awful. It always cracks me up when I see a couple, and they’re out to dinner, and they’re both on their phones. Who started it?

    How did Amy keep a straight face when he said he’d rock her world? Seems like a good skill to have.

    • January 27, 2011 11:31 am

      Honestly, I am not sure how she kept the straight face. I don’t think she even knows. Perhaps mild shock + trying-too-hard had something to do with it…

  2. January 27, 2011 10:46 am

    So hear you on the red flags. They ALWAYS mean something. FACT

    • January 27, 2011 11:32 am

      Why are we so good at ignoring them??? They’re always so obvious!

  3. Gilbert Lowell permalink
    January 27, 2011 11:21 am

    Well done Nikki – amazingly well told. Now why don’tcha come on over here and let me disrupt your planet’s orbit.

  4. January 27, 2011 11:41 am

    Good Lord! This guy sounds like a real charmer. Please let me know if you need this post anonymously forwarded to this guy “on accident” so he can see what a bunghole he is.

    P.S. There’s just no excuse for bad sex. Ever.

    • January 27, 2011 1:25 pm

      Can you imagine putting up with it for two entire years?? You never get that time back!

      I really wish people would own their sexuality and express it more. I know there 5,00,000 reasons why people don’t, but finding your voice in the bedroom is so important.

      Because no, there is no excuse for bad sex. Not at 31 years old and after potentially two years of practice.

  5. January 27, 2011 11:48 am

    I’m going to be the contrarian here.

    I think your friend set herself up for disappointment all around. The minute she asked him if he wanted her number, it was game over. If the guy was interested enough, he’d have asked for it. So his interest level wasn’t that high to begin with. But if I’m the guy I’m thinking that this woman is interested in me, so I don’t have to pull out the stops to impress her. Doesn’t excuse the lazy and douchtastic behavior. But a guy who isn’t all that interested in the first place shouldn’t be expected to go above and beyond on a first date.

    The night should have ended once the check came. But it didn’t. I don’t get this whole “try and salvage the night” thinking when the guy treated her so poorly to begin with. Why would anybody want to hook up with someone who was so disrespectful? And LAZY?

    I also don’t get the whole phone on the table thing. Why is that such a problem? I keep my phone on the table.

    Finally, while this guy may have sucked in bed in your friend’s opinion, keep in mind that – again – he wasn’t all that interested in the first place. So why should he try hard to get her off? It’s totally possible that he was a stud in bed with his ex. I don’t think it’s fair to assume the guy was a bad lover based on this situation.

    • Gilbert Lowell permalink
      January 27, 2011 12:27 pm

      Huh. While I understand that there may have been a lack of effort, that to me is entirely different from a lack of skill. For example: cleaning the house. Sometimes there may be someone coming over who you really want to impress so you make sure everything is spotless. Other times you’re just doing some cleaning and don’t care how thorough it is. But just because you’re not as invested doesn’t mean you flail at the sink with a broom or sloppily mop the silverware drawer. You would just spend less time sweeping the floor … but you’d still know how to perform the task in order to have some functional purpose.

      • January 27, 2011 12:31 pm

        But just because you’re not as invested doesn’t mean you flail at the sink with a broom or sloppily mop the silverware drawer.

        Sorry, disagree. If I am only half in to a guy, I’m just not trying that hard. But then, I don’t typically fuck around with someone I’m only moderately interested in or who treats me like gum on the bottom of his shoe. If there’s no consideration, there’s less effort.

    • January 27, 2011 1:09 pm

      OK – first: TOTALLY agree that he should have asked for her number, that’s why it’s Red Flag Number One. And so on and so forth. At no time was I, or Amy for that matter, saying that maaaaaaybe this guy won’t be a DB. Or that maaaaaaybe he really is interested. We both get that part.

      When I say Amy stuck it out – I’m trying (and failing?) to be funny – not to actually imply that she shouldn’t have avoided him from Red Flag #1 (e.g. she had to ask if he wanted her number).

      Basically – I think Amy just wanted to go on a date and the guy was pretty to look at. And she wanted to get laid. Thus, none of the other things really mattered. She had NO intention of starting some sort of relationship with him whatsoever. But, in my opinion, I can still want to have sex/hook up with a guy who is an ass. YES that might seem stupid but… hey, I’m human. Sometimes I just want some sex. Especially if you’re pretty to look at.

      See – I totally get the argument that, if a dude is a douche – why even go near him? TOTALLY. But guys get to use girls who they aren’t interested in for sex all the time – and us girls can too. I wouldn’t say it should be how we go about dating for crying out loud, or to make a habit of it – I’m just saying it is possible to use someone for sex. BOTH girls and boys – and there should not be a double standard there. It’s actually better if the other person is a DB – because then you know they don’t care about you either and it’s just. sex. Period.

      And, sometimes, I think that’s ok. Not a problem. And I totally get what you’re saying about it always being a problem. Different strokes. BUT doesn’t make me more of a “slut” or that I have lower self-confidence than someone who never just has sex like that. I make my own choices.

      As for the phone on the table: I don’t think the phone out during any kind of dinner in public (with friends or on a date) is all that great. If you’re waiting on an important call, fine. But you should be there for the moment – not to be interrupted. There was once a time when we survived without cell phones. Surely we can return to that for a few hours. The world won’t end.

      In terms of WR’s skills? Honey, I really think he was trying. REALLY. I don’t think he was being lazy. He didn’t even pressure her to do anything to him. But, your point is well taken.

      In all honesty, this was meant as a funny horrible dating story to laugh at – tongue-in-cheek silliness. For the most part, I completely agree with you, Moxie.

      • January 27, 2011 1:38 pm

        But guys get to use girls who they aren’t interested in for sex all the time – and us girls can too. I wouldn’t say it should be how we go about dating for crying out loud, or to make a habit of it – I’m just saying it is possible to use someone for sex. BOTH girls and boys – and there should not be a double standard there. It’s actually better if the other person is a DB – because then you know they don’t care about you either and it’s just. sex. Period.

        You know who perpetuates this double standard? Women. This whole “men get a free pass for using women” is a lie women tell themselves to feel better about screwing guys that don’t give a shit about them.

        Where? Where do men get away with treating a woman like she’s disposable? Where do men get away with objectifying a woman? I’m sorry…but if a guy wrote this post and said the things about his date that you said here,and said something like she had a sloppy pussy, he’d get shit for it. No way would people be all “you go, boy!” People would call him a self-serving douche, a sexist, a pig, etc.

        If a man wrote a post about a woman who yapped away on her cell phone on a date and paid more attention to the TV than him, and then the guy said “Well, I should at least try to fuck her to get my money’s worth” I have a hard time believing that many women would be cheering him on.

        It’s actually better if the other person is a DB – because then you know they don’t care about you either and it’s just. sex. Period

        Right. They don’t care about you at all. I’m not saying they have to care for you or that there has to be this deep trust and understanding. But in what world is it “better” to fuck someone who cares so little about you or your well being? If they’re douchebags, then there’s a really good chance they’re also liars. So forget about them being honest with you about STDs or testing or relationship status.

        BUT doesn’t make me more of a “slut” or that I have lower self-confidence than someone who never just has sex like that. I make my own choices. ,/i>

        I didn’t make any assumptions about you or your friend. Frankly, I don’t give a shit why someone chooses to have sex. But I hate, hate, HATE when women disguise objectifying the opposite sex and devaluing them with sexual empowerment.

      • January 27, 2011 1:43 pm

        Also..THANK YOU for allowing a discourse here. My comments can be somewhat pointed and harsh. I appreciate that you have the balls to allow someone to speak their mind.

      • January 27, 2011 2:01 pm

        Woah.

        Alright. Point well taken.

        First, I agree that women, as well as men, perpetrate the double standard on using people for sex – that it’s ok for guys and not for girls. I’m not entirely clear on this: “This whole “men get a free pass for using women” is a lie women tell themselves to feel better about screwing guys that don’t give a shit about them.”

        What I hear is that maybe we’re saying “well men get to do it so we do too” to make ourselves feel better? I have to disagree there. Yes, some people say those things when they have low self-esteem and want an excuse – people of BOTH sexes. However, is it such a reach to think that men and women BOTH also sometimes just have sex to have sex?

        From there – you are absolutely right. Treating anyone as disposable or objectifying is not acceptable. And your further point about a dude posting this. Please believe that I had not thought much further than just posting a funny dating story, but what you’re saying is right on.

        Yes – I am objectifying this person, and when you state it the way you did, I agree it sounds horrible. However, I meant it as funny and nothing to be taken so seriously. That being said, I agree with your points. I could have been more sensitive. Or not posted this at all.

        As for the “better” comment – I meant if you’re going to use someone for sex, dear god please don’t do it to someone who has emotions invested in that act when you don’t. If the guy is a douche, you’re guaranteeing there are no hard feelings. And of course the dude is probably a liar – do you think for a second Amy would have had sex with him without a condom?

        Furthermore – even though I was still trying to be funny, Amy had no actual intention of having sex with him, or blowing him, or anything. She just wanted to have some fun. I embellished to make my points.

        Finally, I never said I’d use this for my own sexual empowerment. Or for Amy’s. It’s just a story. I did try to use it to make the point that you can have sex with someone randomly and not de-value yourself (but, as past posts have argued, random sex isn’t for everyone). It’s ok to do that and it doesn’t have to be a power struggle where the guy is Awesome and the girl is a Slut.

        I also tried to make the point that you shouldn’t ignore red flags – they don’t get you anywhere good. The moral of this story wasn’t “have sex with the DB – he’ll be awesome later”. He clearly won’t be.

        I completely see the points you’re making. I am sorry if I offended anyone. It was just a story that works well for a laugh. Plus, the guy was an ass, so I didn’t feel all that bad about objectifying him. If he acted like an adult and a gentleman, there would be no story.

        Look. Dating and relationships and sex are difficult. Sometimes you have to look back at the shitty situations (and this was one, period) and laugh and not take them too seriously. We all do it – we all objectify people we come into contact with – especially those that don’t treat us very well. We tell terrible dating stories to our friends, not so we can sit around and complain, but so we can laugh and move on. I just happened to post one (anonymously) here. This isn’t to belittle your comments in ANY way – it’s just to say… can we just be funny sometimes?

        I’m as concerned about the issues that you raise as you are – and I do agree with you. If you look at the things I write about, you would find that. I do apologize for being obtuse here and I DO thank you for pointing these things out to me and whomever reads this post. They are very important – I just didn’t think enough in this instance.

      • January 27, 2011 2:07 pm

        And of course I encourage discourse. What’s the point in only having your own opinion? I can’t imagine telling anyone not to speak their mind – so many people don’t!

  6. January 27, 2011 12:12 pm

    Hahahahaha OK… but that was effing hilarious (for all the wrong reasons)! Obviously not for your friend at the time but the pan-scrubbing bit had me howling with laughter in work (colleagues now really convinced I am losing it).

    There is not much worse than a really lousy date and then not even any fun to rescue the situation completely. So yep… feedback and hints/tips in the bedroom are important.

    • January 27, 2011 1:12 pm

      Oh man, you should see her visual impression. I died.

      • January 27, 2011 2:06 pm

        Hi..

        I’m not in any way trying to school you in the ways of blogging. You can and should blog about whatever the hell you want. It’s YOUR blog. We have a difference of opinion. That’s all. Like I said, I am greatly appreciative of the fact that you allowed me to speak my mind, and could address my comment with your own passion rather than just stooping to some snotty passive aggressive attack.

      • January 27, 2011 2:09 pm

        OH not at all! I didn’t take it that way – in fact, I think you really made some very good points, and I think it’s VERY important to have made them.

        In all honesty, I wish we could actually be having this conversation. There’s so much to be said – comments are kind of a tough medium!

  7. January 27, 2011 3:46 pm

    HMMMM Poking head up from foxhole to see if it’s safe to come out and comment.
    Lots of fur flying around up there!

    I actually printed your post out at work today and passed it around. Pretty much everyone who has ever dated in adult circumstances howled with laughter. Not because of what happened but because something very similar has happened to them.

    Guys and girls alike have had inconsiderate dates, myself I could hardly count the number of self involved daddy’s girls that I’ve been out with in the last 10 years. Yea they look good on paper but get em in a conversation and watch the eyes glaze over.

    That phone thing has to top the cake though, that’s pretty fricken rude. I actually walked out on a evening once because the girl I was with kept getting up and chatting with her friends across the room. She got up one time too many and when she got back, if she ever did, I was gone.

    Sorry no time in my life for that, and I wouldn’t expect anyone else to either.

    I also have to agree with MissMelisaMae, bad sex always sucks. But some nights it’s just a case of opening night jitters on either partners part. But this guy obviously had no clue at all.

    • January 27, 2011 4:28 pm

      Ha – yeah… we were gettin’ serious around here! 😀

      I am so glad I was able to provide some entertainment! I think it is funny because we’ve all gone out with someone who was an ass – and it’s more poking fun at the situation and its awfulness in a general sense. It’s a shared experience, and that’s why we get it.

      Not good that it’s a shared experience – but it’s better to laugh at these things than be-moan them or dwell!

      I definitely agree on the first night jitters. [I hope] we all know that it’s awkward the first time with a new partner – and of course his skillz (such as they were) would not have been something we’d make fun of if he wasn’t SUCH an ass and acted like he was god’s gift.

      But that’s part of the point, right? Early on, it’s totally ok to be awkward and not know – part of the fun is learning about each other. But you DO have to speak up and discuss, and I really don’t think his ex did that. Which is really too bad. I can’t really blame someone for being terrible in bed if they’ve been with someone for two years – they probably think they’re just fine because they haven’t been told otherwise.

  8. January 27, 2011 10:29 pm

    I have had more dates like this than I care to admit. The phone thing bugs the crap out of me, but it happens allllll the time.

    And I totally agree with you. Girls sometimes want sex with hot guys and nothing more. It’s not always the guy “getting some” or the girl “giving it up” (HATE that term – must blog about it). Maybe the girl is getting some. I caught shit from some guys when I wrote about sleeping with Fred, who was a d-bag but super, duper HOT! Man, I wanted that shit. And I got it. Then I dumped him, coz he was, ya know, douchey. He still wanted to see me, but frankly, I don’t think he minded that I had sex with him.

    Sadly, for your friend, this dood was not only douchey but bad in bed. But bad sex makes for great stories! Silver lining.

    • January 28, 2011 9:27 am

      I HATE the “he-got-it/she-gave-it-up” bullshit statement too! Not only does it just re-iterate a ridiculous double standard, but also stereotypes about men and women: that men are out to “get” sex “from” a woman – and a woman is there to “keep” it from someone else – until she “gives it”. Not only is that an obnoxious way to look at sex, but assume it’s some sort of “prize” – when dating should be dating and sex should be sex. Know what I’m sayin?? Definitely blog about it! I look forward to reading what you’ve got to say! 😀

      Hey, man, sometimes you just want to have sex with douchey guys. All you want is sex, which is probably what they want too so… seems to work out in my book.

      Yes – the bad sex was a real bummer! What can you do! We’re just glad it’s been entertaining and, apparently, thought-provoking!

  9. January 27, 2011 10:57 pm

    Oh! And hey, thank you for the shout out 🙂

    • January 28, 2011 9:28 am

      Of course – love your blog!

  10. January 28, 2011 1:47 pm

    I’d have gotten the eff out of dodge at Red Flag #1. In fact, every flag this guy flew at full staff was a clear indication of his cavalier “disinterest”. People who think they can compete with a narcissistic asshat’s overblown God self-fixation needs their skull rocked.

    I was turned off by this guy in how you described him and felt the chunks start to rise out of my throat way before how he demonstrated he couldn’t even go downtown right. All that for some sex? Uh, I think I’ll keep that nickel right between my knees, thank you.

    • January 28, 2011 4:12 pm

      Ha – yeah, that’s the thing about red flags. They shouldn’t be ignored. They never lead anywhere good.

  11. January 29, 2011 9:42 pm

    This reminds me of a date I went on over the summer. We were in a pretty dark restaurant. That detail is important, because she was texting under the table the entire time, and her shirt lit up like a Christmas tree from her smart phone’s bright screen. Dummy.

    • January 31, 2011 9:31 pm

      And that’s amazing. Do people have no shame these days?

      No chocolate-blueberry pancakes for that Queen DB.

  12. Foreigner permalink
    January 30, 2011 5:32 am

    I read this twice and I said to to myself you are never getting out of the house again…hahaha
    I can’t imagine beeing on a date with a worldrocker like that and not cuting him off right away.
    Tho it’s hard to know when to stop beeing polite and just leave.

    Really good looking guys don’t try their best because they don’t have to, they get all the girls they want but those girls don’t stick around much.
    In my experience they’re really bad kissers and very selfinvolved or the opposite they can be very insecure…

    • January 31, 2011 9:33 pm

      Oh good point – I would have to agree. There are a lot of good-looking people, men and women, who become so entitled, they make shallow relationships period. And that’s not even bringing up kissing ability!

      In my experience, this is Douchebagery in rare form. It’s ok to leave the house. 😉

  13. February 2, 2011 12:03 am

    I don’t know..I don’t think the guy sounds douchebag as much as he sounds inexperienced with dating and women. If you left out that she thought he was really attractive everyone would be chalking it up to inexperience.
    The locking the door thing only makes sense in that light.
    I’m not sure anyone that is that experienced would be a World Rocker, if they really wanted to they would show and not tell.
    I could only see someone saying that from a lack of confidence in actually being able to world rock.

    • February 3, 2011 10:34 am

      Hmmm… interesting point, Nate! You’re right – there could most definitely be some inexperience and insecurity at play here. I would say that there probably is, and he’s overcompensating to try and cover it up.

      Which inofitself isn’t all that great. Just as being afraid of questioning your own sexuality doesn’t give you a pass at telling terribly homophobic jokes, you don’t get to use Douchebagery to hide world rockin’ insecurity. Even if his inexperience is what’s driving his behavior, there’s no excuse for being rude (e.g. picking up the phone/responding to texts – or leaving her to walk herself out).

      One day you have to grow up and own it, instead of being an ass. He’s too old for that crap.

Trackbacks

  1. Tweets that mention Red Flags & World Rockin’ « Women Are From Mars -- Topsy.com
  2. Young lady, where are your standards?? « Women Are From Mars

Leave a Reply

