Skip to content

Sometimes we can’t help but… “le sigh.”

December 16, 2010

My friend Simone is kind of awesome. She’s into history, but also into discussing the “social narratives” that we create about our history. She’s written a goddamn paper about Hurricane Katrina and the Colonization of Psychic Space. She’s into fashion and music, without being obnoxious about it. She’s basically one of those fantastic people who is brilliant, yet grounded – knows a shit-ton of crazy stuff, but is never pretentious. She’s also my go-to when I need a completely rational view.


Granted – she has her own shit, and ways in which she’s not all that rational (e.g. her on-going love affair with a narcissistic rockstar who shall at this time remain anonymous, too). However. I’d say she’s one of the most self-aware people I know.


Given all this, she’s also goofy, funny, and beyond a doubt her own person. A classic anecdote about Simone when it comes to boys? She had a crush on one of our mutual friends. We were all out at a bar, several years ago, and they were talking. A lull in the conversation occurred, and in an attempt to get it going again, she said “So… how about [I forget what country] not getting into the EU? That’s a bummer, huh?”

I give you this background because the following is about the best e-mail I could receive from her regarding a second date.

From: Simone
Sent: Monday, December 13, 2010 11:02 AM
To: Me
Subject: Re:

On to cheerful news:  1) I’m not hung over today!! 😀  2)  I had another fantastic date with ____last night!!! 😀  (I’m in text message dilemma land right now…do I text him?  If so, what??)  3)  We had a fun make out sesh in front of my house.


I will not gush too much right now [whatever you say, Simone]but I really like him.  He’s so cute!  He says things like, “these rad Byzantine texts” (rad!!) in this totally unassuming way like it’s his vernacular and how else would he describe Byzantine texts??  And does hilarious things like goes from discussing etymology in this 1871 German text he’s reading to talking about how skateboarders are narly dudes.  Seriously.  I die.  Just one quote from last night (though “skateboarders are some narly dudes” is a direct quote): he was talking and he pointed at me and goes, “Oh! Sorry!  I didn’t mean to point rudely, only emphatically.”  Quote #2:  I said that I was trying to make fewer hyperbolic statements, (one from last night: “I’m starving!!”) and he laughed and asked if this is something I’ve been considering recently, then added, “I’ve been dealing with that forEVER!”


Oh!  Did I mention he’s fluent in ancient Greek and Latin and also German??  AND he knows who Judith Butler is (“Oh!  Judith Butler” intonation: of COURSE, everyone knows her).

*le sigh* [I love that she says things like “le sigh”]

xoxoxox

S

SO no big conclusions today – just sharing because things like this that make my friends giddy, make me giddy. And hope springs eternal. We get burned, and we don’t know how we’ll keep from being jaded, and yet when the cute nerdy dude comes along, who talks about rad Byzantine texts, we can’t help but…le sigh.

And pray that maybe, this time, there won’t be another shoe. When it happens to us, and when it happens to our friends.

Oh – also, I’ve decided “gnarly” and “rad” need to be re-introduced into my vocabulary. And, I also hope this is the end of Mr. Narcissistic Rocker – despite their sexual, and otherwise, compatibility.



We are made to bleed
And scab and heal and bleed again
And turn every scar into a joke

We are made to fight
And fuck and talk and fight again
And sit around and laugh until we choke


– Ani Difranco, “Buildings & Bridges
(gawd I love me some Ani)

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 16, 2010 9:45 am

    Giddy is good and hope is always great. “le sigh”…nice one! 😀

    • December 16, 2010 2:53 pm

      Here’s to hoping! 😀

  2. December 16, 2010 2:54 pm

    Thank You for this cute post and for being, for lack of a better term, girls!
    It rejuvenates my faith in mankind as a mostly harmless species.

    So nice also to know that the other side worries and frets as much as guys do about the little things that happen when a relationship begins. Nice to see Simone laughs at his little idiosyncrasies. I highly doubt there are many in the world like him.

    Best grab on with two hands and enjoy the ride!!!

    Laughing all the way.

    Bob

    • December 17, 2010 9:09 am

      It can’t be serious all the time – and the cute posts are more fun all around, really.

      Of course we worry and fret! 🙂 And, btw, it’s not that his idiosyncrasies make us giggle, it’s more that they are SO Simone’s thing, it’s not even funny. I just got off the phone with her (date #3 also a roaring success), and this dude seems perfect. Which, of course inofitself, is kinda scary…

      But we’re going with happy and perfect for now! 😀

  3. Esme permalink
    December 16, 2010 4:07 pm

    ‘Le sigh’…love it! And here is hoping the narcissistic rockstar is out of the picture…

    • December 17, 2010 9:10 am

      For now he is… and I think the only way Simone is ever going to be able to say no to him over the long term is if she finds someone who makes her truly understand how bad he is for her…

  4. December 16, 2010 6:02 pm

    “Le sigh.” I said that once in a blog post, and I knew it was genius. You have a friend who uses it on a regular basis: Awesomesauce.

    • December 17, 2010 9:13 am

      Total genius. Yep – she’s pretty much awesomesauce.

Trackbacks

  1. Newsflash: We can handle your honesty. Bring it. « Women Are From Mars
  2. Introducing… Simone and the Dating Moratorium. « Women Are From Mars

Leave a Reply

