Skip to content

Boxed Wine, A Happy Hour Thanksgiving.

November 25, 2010

This will be my briefest post ever (although I am sure to find a way to make it much longer than it needs to be). I just had to tell someone.

I am staying in a cheap Dublin hostel for my last night, it being the end of my trip and my budget. I am in the common area/kitchen because hostels don’t have desks in their rooms. Or at least this one doesn’t.

You know those plastic file-folder boxes? That you can fill up with files and then shove in a closet or under a desk?


What you put files in right? Wrong.


Yeah. Those.

There is one in the kitchen right now. A member of the hostel staff is pouring red wine and orange juice into it. And adding sliced oranges.

On the side, in big letters cut out of bright construction paper, it says…


“HAPPY HOUR DRINKS.”


So. That’s my Thanksgiving. I do have a lot to be thankful for. Might be enough to fill a plastic wine-and-orange-juice-filled office file box.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. November 25, 2010 3:27 pm

    Whooo hoooo HAPPY THANKSGIVING to you!! Party On!!

  2. November 25, 2010 4:10 pm

    Slainte! Enjoy Thanksgiving in Dublin.

  3. November 26, 2010 11:07 am

    I think it’s the Irish equivalent of Jungle Juice. Did you try it?

  4. BeneathTheSpinLight permalink
    November 27, 2010 12:04 am

    I hope you drank some of that Thanksgiving Happy Hour cheer!

  5. November 27, 2010 1:06 pm

    Happy Thanksgiving right back at you guys!

    No – I didn’t try any. Couldn’t bring myself to! But Thanksgiving did get me free Guinness later, which suited me much better!

  6. November 28, 2010 7:19 pm

    Well that was an intriguing slice of reality!

  7. December 4, 2010 2:45 am

    That sounds like one of the greatest drinks ever.

    • December 5, 2010 11:54 am

      I probably should have tried it.

Leave a Reply

