Skip to content

I am … here.

October 16, 2010

his was written at the beginning of my current trip. Obvi. But then I didn’t have internet. Went ahead and posted late regardless. I also drew the map myself. I am good at drawing.

So. Here’s the deal. I’m not going to be in the country until the day after Thanksgiving.

True story.

Basically, I have a meeting in Italy, well, this week (11 – 14 Oct) and a conference in Ireland 18 – 20 November. Amy decided to come with me to Italy, and we’d explore for 10 days after my meeting was over. That left three weeks (and a half, ok fine) between Italy and my conference in Dublin, so I decided to attempt to stay in Europe. Because it would be awesome.


In so doing, I was also invited to give a lecture at a university in the Netherlands, and offered an office there for some of the time. Adding “invited lecturer” to resume is also awesome. So.

On Friday, I returned from Aruba at 10:30pm (this was a vacation planned far in advance of Europe… sweartogod).

On Saturday, 9 October, I did laundry, repacked and departed the US of A that evening. Flew to Dublin. Flew to Rome. Took a bus. Took a train. Attempted to take a ferry.

That last part didn’t happen. But assuming everything else goes mostly according to plan…

I will be in Italy until 23 October. After my meeting, we’ll tour Pompeii, Florence, Chianti, and Rome.


I then take a train to Switzerland for a brief stop (1.5 days). Fly to Amsterdam. Train to the university where I’ll be working.


Give a talk on 2 November.

Hi-speed train to Paris (wahoo! fast train!) on 3 November, where I’ll meet Simone that afternoon.

Then it’s the Whirlwind Tour of France with Simone by Car: Paris-Normandy-Verdun-Alsace-Marseilles-Bordeuax-Paris.


Leave Paris by chunnel (yay! Why I am looking forward to that, no idea. Just to say I did it?) for London. Meet English Nicole in London for a couple days.

On 17 November, fly to Dublin. Conference 18 – 20 November.

End my Grand Tour of Europe by traveling Ireland by car.

Return to the states on 26 November… tired… jet-lagged…

….ooo are those concert tickets???

In the meantime, I will try to update whenever I can. I also have some blogs already written that I will post while I am away – so please check back!

XOXO

Nikki

10 Comments leave one →
  1. October 17, 2010 2:28 pm

    Quite the world traveller, I am so envious.
    Furthest I have been from home was NYC.

    Really enjoying the blog. Keep up the good words!

    • October 21, 2010 10:24 am

      Hey thanks! And get outta Canada! I highly recommend it. 😉

  2. October 18, 2010 1:04 am

    OoOOoOoOoO

    /envious
    /not bitter
    /well maybe a little bitter about the dutch uni thing
    /totes not really bitter

    I hope you have a cray-mazing trip!

    • October 21, 2010 10:25 am

      Hey thanks! So far, so awesome! I am trying to keep up with things but… stay in and write post or tour Rome… hmmmmmmmmmmmmmm…

  3. October 22, 2010 9:21 am

    Italy? That’s awesome. One day I’ll get there.

    So your birthday is just a week or two away…Happy Birthday (early)!

    Such a long trip! I wouldn’t even know how to begin to pack for that.

    • October 26, 2010 10:05 am

      You definitely need to start planning some travel, woman! I know, I know – easier said than done! And YES packing was a nightmare!

      Thanks for the bday wishes! And thanks for reading!

Trackbacks

  1. The Ridiculous American leaves Italy… « Women Are From Mars
  2. What [else] you can learn from Random Dudes I Met in Europe. « Women Are From Mars
  3. ‘Tis the season: My Resolutions for Other People. « Women Are From Mars
  4. All this water and not a drop to drink. « Women Are From Mars

Leave a Reply

