Skip to content

…disaster.

June 4, 2010

I realize this isn’t what I am blogging for.

I realize I understand this more than most do – that I comprehend the damage on a level most don’t have by virtue of my background.

I realize this is especially close to my heart, for many reasons.

In addition to the millions of people who are and will be affected by this megadisaster… these are the ones, as a global ecological community, we stand to lose. The ones we will lose.

And now it has hit land.


All images are from MSNBC, full slide show can be viewed here.


An ibis takes flight from an oil-covered marsh on an island near Grand Isle, Louisiana on May 27.


"Booms try to hold off oil leaked from the Deepwater Horizon wellhead from Cat Island on May 23. Brown pelicans, spoonbills and herons nest on the island in Barataria Bay."


Oil-streaked pelican eggs.


A young heron mired in oil.

I have no words. I am rendered speechless in anger, helplessness… and utter utter sorrow.

Luckily, Rachel Maddow is as mad as I am. And she can still use her words.

Please watch this clip.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

