Skip to content

An update!

December 11, 2013

So. I’m back.


Well. Sort of back. Mostly back.


Figuring out how to be back?

Basically, I’ve missed you guys. I’ve also missed all the cool things people are doing and saying and talking about. I’ve missed all that crap. And, turns out, I’ve a bit of a lull at the mo’ and thought I’d give it a shot coming back.


Now – this isn’t 100% just yet. I’m essentially seeing if I can get my groove back, if I can find a balance (before things get crazy again). I don’t know if I’ll be posting on the regular just yet, but I will be getting back to twitter and FB (although should I even bother with FB as a page?). I’ll also be reading again, and seeing what everyone has been up to. Although… looks like some people have been just as MIA as I have!


So – couple things first:

  1. 1. Pretty pretty please tell me what you’ve been up to in the last year in the comments! Or feel free to e-mail me (womenarefrommars at gmail.com)
  2. 2. Any new, cool bloggers I should check out?

As for me? Well – some new stuff, I guess…


  1. That’s Dr. Nikki to you. Yeah…. I finished the PhD. Written up beginning of October, defended later that month. Went off to binding last week. WHEW. And yet – still feels pretty goddamn surreal that the last five years have come to a close. Of course, now I just have to get my chapters into manuscripts and submitted for publication… sighhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhh… But, you know, I can now basically join the real world. I’ve only been in school twenty-some-odd years… 

  2. I’m movin’ up. Last week received an UNofficial offer for a postdoctoral position at an Ivy League school. That’s right – Ivy League. There’s even REAL IVY growing on a lot of the buildings there (they brought me down for an interview so I can attest to this). I KNOW FANCY RIGHT. Wait…what’s a postdoctoral whatever you say? Well, a postdoc is kind-of the next step in some fields after you get your PhD – it’s a short, 1-2yrs, research position that serves to give you experience before you look for a real job. It’s like a baby step towards the real world. At least I actually get a normal person’s salary.


Sooooooooo that’s the big news! Pretty exciting! And also the reason why I have some down time (except for those manuscripts… that are staring at me from inside my computer as we speak… er, write…). I start my new postdoc supposedly the beginning of February, but there’s been some delay on it getting all formalized. Which is a little annoying, but I’m trying to not be annoying to my new bosses about it and be patient. As such, I’ll probably be moving in January sometime, so trying to find a new place. Which sucks. Especially cuz this is my view at the moment…


IMG_1822


Sooooo you can understand why I’m loathe to leave.

Lots of changes happening. Stuff going on. Big things! Huzzah! And that’s about it that’s new, really. Everything else about the same. Wait, what? Who? Oh, right. I guess there is one other thing to discuss…


    3. That foreign country I’m dating. Yep. Canada and I are still together. Which is cray – it’s been well over 1.5 years! Can you believe it? Well, I can’t. I guess it’s cuz he’s pretty much awesome so… like I’m gonna kick a good thing to the curb. And, yeah, yeah, I hear ya – but Nikki, what about the big move to Ivy League? Ugh. Nope. Canada isn’t coming along. Basically, we’re both very career-oriented people, and the truth of the matter is we need to be focused on those careers right now, this soon out of our graduate programs. We need to get the best experience now so we can be choosey about things in the future. So. We’re doing the long-distance thing. Which, yeah, TOTALLY SUCKS. But what else can we do?

OK. You have the full update. That’s pretty much my news in a nutshell. Now – what’s going on with you??

11 Comments leave one →
  1. December 11, 2013 9:44 am

    I don’t feel like I’m smart enough to actually be associated with you in any way, shape or form, but I will say a big huge CONGRATS on all your hard work and success (in various areas of your life, I might add.) Holy crap!

    As for me, I think you caught up via FB (the bastard) and the blog because basically nothing is super exciting on my end. Put out two new books, a couple posts a week and have the same job. Go me! I’m glad you’re back :)

    • December 11, 2013 9:51 am

      Two new books?? Damn girl you’ve been busy! That’s awesome and congrats to you as well! Now that I’m going to be getting paid beyond a student stipend, I can start purchasing such items! Huzzah indeed. Glad all is well!

  2. December 11, 2013 10:50 am

    Congrats to you Ms. PhD and Soon-to-Be Ivy Leaguer! That’s very cool!

    What’s new with me…hmmmm…just baby. And Kiefer and I went to Greece, which was awesome!

    • December 11, 2013 3:04 pm

      Thanks! And yeah I picked up on the baby thing! ;) Congrats to you and Kiefer – very awesome and cannot wait to meet the lil nugget! (… via the interwebs of course… and not in a creepy way… )

      Greece sounds awesome!! It’s on my list!

  3. December 11, 2013 11:19 am

    Awesome!! congrats on the job and your new title DOCTOR!! amazing!! and on things with ‘Canada’ sounds just perfect right now for you and I couldn’t be happier for you!

    • December 11, 2013 3:05 pm

      Thank you! It’s all still sinking in a bit, and I’ll feel better when I have the official offer from the dean… even though I’ve been assured all is well.

      The long-distance thing is sucky. But Canada is awesome. So… I guess I can handle it for a bit. ;)

  4. December 11, 2013 12:38 pm

    First of all… that view. So amazing! So can totally understand you will miss that. Secondly … Ivy League… very posh! Kidding! Am delighted for you, both for the PhD and the postdoctorate!! You so deserve it! And also, I am sure things with Canada will continue going well.

    On this end, well as you might have noticed I have not exactly been in the blogosphere much myself. So what’s new… starting a new job next week which will hopefully allow me some more balance where I might even get to start writing again. Life is pretty grand in general. Been meaning to write you for ages, will do so very soon.

    • December 11, 2013 3:06 pm

      Yes you were one of the ones I meant when I said MIA! Sounds like new things on your end as well – I know you were pretty stressed for a bit! Send me an e-mail and tell me all about it. Glad to hear things are going well now! XOXO!

  5. December 12, 2013 1:58 am

    Dr. Nikki! What-what?! Congrats, girl! I’ve been a little MIA too. Blogging every now and again. Had some big stuff going on most of the year but it’s over now. Slowing getting back to blogging, but it’s kinda tough getting back into it. Anyway, I’m glad YOU’RE back. Many of our old bloggy friends have sadly vanished (sob).

  6. December 18, 2013 10:17 pm

    Wow, I am so glad you’ve made a little return. I feel so humbled to be writing to a post doctoral graduate. For all of my posturing I never got though my undergrad years.

    So congrats! However I knew you when you were still a pleb so I am going to rant and rage as though you were until you smack me with your book of hammers.

    Love ya still babe, sorry bout you and Mr Wannabe Manitoban that sucks, Canadian Guys do rule. I hope you continue in some way over the miles.

    Send me a letter or something I am craving contact
    Bob

  7. January 6, 2014 2:59 pm

    YAY!!!! Oh happy day! Missed you.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 618 other followers

